ICT veteran Andile Ngcaba continues the push for Wi-Fi

The Wi-Fi Forum SA has re-elected ICT industry veteran Andile Ngcaba as chairman and assigned portfolios to the other management committee members who will lead the body this year and into 2017. By Staff Writer

With two-thirds of South Africans out in the cold when it comes to Internet access, the Wi-Fi Forum SA (WFFSA) will redouble its advocacy for public access Wi-Fi across South Africa. This commitment to universal service was made by the WFFSA’s “top three” who were again installed at the helm of the collaborative, self-regulating body this week.

The WFFSA’s recently-elected Management Committee for 2016/2017 met in Johannesburg to elect the office bearers and sub-committee members who will continue to promote the utilisation of Wi-Fi in the delivery of seamless connectivity in South Africa.

Andile Ngcaba, Raj Wanniappa and Mpho Mokete were elected unopposed as Chairperson, Executive Deputy Chairperson and Treasurer, respectively.

“Much of what people talk about today is centered on what they saw on the web. For 35 million South Africans who might be visiting friends, waiting for transport or taking their lunch breaks, those conversations are meaningless,” Ngcaba said.

“The WFFSA is working towards the kind of inclusive society that universal Wi-Fi access can create. We’ve already made progress in getting diverse network operators to buy into the long-term goal of a heterogenous network offering seamless nationwide access to the web. We’ll continue the push for greater Wi-Fi access into 2017.”

The benefits of ubiquitous W-Fi access are many. For example, a recent World Bank study showed that there is a clear correlation between Internet access and GDP growth. When Internet access was increased to 10% for any population, there was a concomitant 1.38% increase in economic growth.

Management committee members elected at the WFFSA’s second Annual General Meeting (AGM) held last month included Andile Ngcaba, Bruce Pitso, Gareth Mortimer, Kervin Pillay, Mpho Mokete, Raj Wanniappa and Zanele Monnakgotla. Envir Fraser and William Stucke will assist the committee as co-opted members.

“A formidable team is on board and South Africa will reap the benefits as it gets down to work playing an active role in the country’s Wi-Fi policy development process,” said Ngcaba.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here